About Us

The County of Santa Clara, also referred to as Silicon Valley, is located at the southern end of the San Francisco Bay and encompasses about 1,312 square miles. The County's population is over 1.75 million as of 2010 and is one of the largest in the state (following Los Angeles, San Diego and Orange Counties). Its population constitutes about one fourth of the Bay Area's total population. There are 15 cities ranging from Palo Alto to the north to Gilroy in the south. San Jose is the largest city in the County, with a population of nearly 900,000, and is the administrative site of County Government. The County of Santa Clara has a culture rich in its history and ethnic diversity (over 100 languages and dialects are spoken). Immigrants constitute one third of the County’s population. The County is home to three major universities (Stanford University, Santa Clara University and San Jose State University) and is home to the San Jose Earthquakes and San Jose Sharks professional sports team.​​

All Content Copyright © 2023, County of Santa Clara, CA